London Bridge, found at the southern end of Googong Foreshores, is a stunning natural landmark that was first recorded in 1823 by explorer Captain Mark Currie. Directed to the site by an Aboriginal guide, Currie described it as a 'natural bridge of one perfect Saxon arch, under which the water passed.
The arch formed when water flowing along Burra Creek leaked through cracks in the limestone. These cracks enlarged as the limestone dissolved, forming caves and the London Bridge Arch. A circuit walk of two hours will take you across London Bridge Arch up along Burra Creek to the London Bridge Homestead.
London Bridge Homestead
One of the first property owners in the area was John McNamara, an Irishman from County Clare, who purchased the property in 1857. The first part of the homestead was built around 1860 from a nearby hill's stone quarry. Additional buildings were constructed over the years in response to the needs of the growing family - John and his wife had thirteen children. A security fence now protects the homestead and buildings, but Googong Foreshore Rangers hold regular open days.
The Homestead offers five different architectural building techniques used over the last century and is typical of a traditional farm home, but quite different from the wealthy homesteads usually preserved. The Woolshed and Shearer's Quarters are located beside the southern car park and picnic area.